Cannes 2017: What Happened?

Mag 29, 2017     John Labyrinth   0 Comment     , , , , , , , , ,     News_ENG

An incredible jury, lots of interesting movies and ambitious productions (for instance, Lanthimos and his “The killing of a Sacred deer” with Nicole Kidman and Colin Farrell). But after all this buzz, who won the Cannes Film Festival?


The Cannes Festival is never an event that goes unnoticed in the life of filmmakers and fans of the seventh art. In order to keep the hype from falling, this year, there has been an increased attention to the phenomenon of divismo (just look at the number of interviews with Nicole Kidman for his presence in four productions in this year’s Cannes). Or let’s think about the “media battle” that has sparked on the festival poster which showed Claudia Cardinale (talking about divismo!).
Still, the jury of this edition was of utmost respect and incredibly full of talent: Almodovar as chairman of the jury, Paolo Sorrentino, Park Chan-wook, Jessica Chastain, Fan Bingbing, Agnès Jaoui, Will Smith, Gabriel Yared and Marian Ade, director of the interesting film Toni Erdmann (last year at Cannes).
As if it was not enough to heighten the aura of the festival, the organizers have put in programming the return to the mysteries of “Twin Peaks” (the opening of the series has had a special premiere) in the forms of the new season organized, produced and directed By David Lynch. This event and the episode received a very warm standing ovation for the director that almost pushed him to the brink of emotion.
In short, the ingredients are all there, but as usual at the end of such a festival, Google research indicates how often there is a decisive confusion about the prizes won, by whom.

And here we are, at the key moment. Here are all the awards for the Cannes Film Festival 2017. Take a look at the “Best Actress” in the section A certain Regard for a piece of our Italy.

Palme d’Or

The Square (Sweden/Germany/France/Denmark) by Ruben Östlund

70th Anniversary Prize

Nicole Kidman (for The Beguiled, The Killing of a Sacred Deer, How to Talk to Girls at Parties and Top of the Lake: China Girl)

Grand Prize

120 Beats per Minute (BPM) (France) by Robin Campillo

Best Director

Sophia Coppola for The Beguiled (USA)

Best Actor

Joaquin Phoenix for You Were Never Really Here (UK) by Lynne Ramsay

Best Actress

Diane Kruger for In the Fade (Aus dem Nichts, Germany) by Fatih Akin

Jury Prize

Loveless (Russia/France/Belgium/Germany) by Andrey Zvyagintsev

Best Screenplay

ex aequo

Yorgos Lanthimos and Efthimis Filippou for The Killing of a Sacred Deer (Ireland/UK)

Lynne Ramsay for You Were Never Really Here (UK)

Palme d’Or for Short Film

A Gentle Night (Xiao Cheng Er Yue, China) by Qiu Yang

Special mention for Short Film

Katto (The Ceiling) by Teppo Airaksinen

Cinéfondation 1st prize

Paul Is Here (Paul est là, Belgium) by Valentina Maurel

Cinéfondation 2nd prize

Animal (Heyvan, Iran) by Bahman and Bahram Ark

Cinéfondation 3rd prize

Two Youths Died (Deux Égarés sonts mort, France) by Tommaso Usberti

Un Certain Regard prize

Lerd (A Man of Integrity, Iran) by Mohammad Rasoulof

Best Actress

Jasmine Trinca for Fortunata (Italy) by Sergio Castellitto

Best Poetic Narrative

Barbara (France) by Mathieu Amalric

Best Direction

Taylor Sheridan for Wind River (USA)

Jury Prize

April’s Daughter (Mexico) by Michel Franco

Caméra d’Or

Montparnasse Bienvenue (Jeune Femme) (France) by Léonor Serraille

L’Œil d’or Documentary Prize

Visages Villages (Faces Places, France) by Agnès Varda

Directors’ Fortnight

Art Cinema Award

The Rider (USA) by Chloe Zhao

Europa Cinemas Label Award

A Ciambra (Italy/Brazil/USA) by Jonas Carpignano

Society of Dramatic Authors and Composers (SACD) Prize

ex aequo

Let the Sunshine In (France) by Claire Denis

Bright Sunshine In review: Juliette Binoche rings love’s changes
Lover for a Day (France) by Philippe Garrel

Illy Short Film Prize

Back to Genoa City (France) by Benoit Grimalt

Critics’ Week

Nespresso Grand Prize

Makala by Emmanuel Gras

France 4 Visionary Award

Gabriel and the Mountain by Fellipe Gamarano Barbosa

Leica Cine Discovery Prize for Short Film

Los Desheredados by Laura Ferrés

Gan Foundation Support for Distribution Award

Gabriel and the Mountain by Fellipe Gamarano Barbosa

SACD Award

Ava by Léa Mysius

Canal+ Award

The Best Fireworks by Aleksandra Terpińska

FIPRESCI Critics’ prize

120 Beats per Minute (BPM) (France) by Robin Campillo

Un Certain Regard

Closeness (Russia) by Kantemir Balagov

Directors’ Fortnight and Critics’ Week

The Nothing Factory (Portugal) by Pedro Pinho

Here are all the awards of the festival, with the pleasant presence of the very good Jasmine Trinca to whom we all congratulate for having won such an important prize in an edition that saw Claudia Cardinale (!) giving her own image and her aura and which certainly did not lack the talent of so many brave actresses (Diane Kruger for example). Or maybe we should say dive?

Condividi quest' articolo con i tuoi amici